Rad Daylight Basement in 1959 Split Level Ranch

4,97Superhost

Privatzimmer in Wohnhaus – Gastgeber:in ist Matthew

2 Gäste, 1 Schlafzimmer, 1 Bett, 1,5 Bäder
Erweiterte Reinigung
Dieser Gastgeber hat sich zur erweiterten Reinigung in 5 Schritten verpflichtet.
Eigenständiger Check-in
Checke per Codeschloss selbst ein.
Tolle Lage
100 % der letzten Gäste haben die Lage mit 5 Sternen bewertet.
Recently renovated - and very cozy - daylight basement in a split level midcentury ranch style home. The entire basement floor is yours and includes a queen size bed, sitting area, fridge, microwave, etc. You'll be surrounded by ancient Doug Fir - wall to wall wood paneling / window framing - and midcentury decor. Centrally located in the inner SE quad, very close to downtown, Reed College, restaurants, bars and shops - Sellwood, Westmoreland, Division/Clinton, Hawthorne, Belmont/Mt. Tabor...

Die Unterkunft
>>NEWLY INSTALLED (8/19/21): Velvet curtain for additional privacy (see photo #10 caption)

It's important to highlight that the bed and bedding routinely receive high marks from guests. For example, please see Maggie's review from her stay (Jan 1-3, 2020): "Honestly THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept in." And, see Lewis' more recent review: (Aug 15-17, 2021): "Indeed, we purchased the same kind of mattress that Matthew has in the apartment the day after we checked out because is was so incredibly comfortable!"

During your stay, the entire basement floor is yours. It is spacious and cozy. I will not come down for any reason unless you ask me to.

Please be aware that the downstairs floor where guests stay doesn't have a door, BUT - as of August 19, 2021 - I've installed a heavy velvet curtain that runs from wall (windows) to wall (kitchenette area) and provides a fair amount of privacy in lieu of a door. And, there is a curtain at the base of the stairs and a room divider as well for additional privacy as needed.

The space is a steal and typically is available for $54-$59/night. And, all guests are absolutely welcome here, but if you are a young couple looking for a romantic getaway where you hunker down, this space is likely not for you. You will need to pay the extra amount required for that experience and the privacy it affords. The space is lovely, the bed is incredibly comfortable (read the reviews from past guests) and there are plenty of amenities that make this a great deal, but the space ultimately works best for travelers interested in seeing Portland and the surrounding area, with the option of coming home to an extremely cozy, welcoming spot at a bargain rate.

In addition to the bed and furniture, your space includes a mini refrigerator, microwave oven, toaster oven, electric kettle, and French press for making coffee.

Complementary items include bottled water (stocked in the refrigerator), coffee (typically, Peet's Coffee: Major Dickason's Blend), sugar, cutlery, plates, bowls, glasses, napkins, etc.

Additionally, fresh towels and a blow dryer are provided for your convenience and use.

The queen bed includes a very recently purchased (as of April '17) memory foam mattress. It is extremely comfortable.

The basement includes a half bath. To use the shower, you will need to come up the stairs to the main level's hallway bathroom. I have a full bathroom in my room and only use the hallway bathroom sparingly while guests are present.

If you need to hang anything, you are more than welcome to use the hallway closet on the main floor. There is plenty of room and plenty of hangers available to you.

If you need to do laundry, you also have access to the unfinished portion of the basement in which the washer and dryer are located.

I work from home. I am generally around and very approachable. I am happy to answer any questions you may have about the space, the neighborhood, and Portland. I've lived in the house for six-plus years and Portland for nearly 14 years. I am absolutely available to provide recommendations for things to do, places to see, restaurants and bars. Just ask.

My 14 year-old son lives with me 50% of the time. While you may end up staying at a time that he is with me, when school is in session (it begins in late August), he is typically in bed by 10pm and up by 7am. We are very aware and respectful to not be too loud when guests are present, but we absolutely do make some noise as we go about our day-to-day activities. It's worth noting that my son is a 'business partner' in this venture, as he receives a 'percentage cut' of the 'gross monthly receipts' based on his willingness to assist with cleaning/turning the space after each guest. I can assure you, he is just as interested and invested in ensuring you have a lovely stay as I am.

Additionally, please be aware that when my son is with me, his six year-old mini-schnauzer pup (Felix) stays with us as well. Felix is very mild mannered and an all around great animal.

In all, our home is a very cozy, warm and fun loving place. We look forward to having you stay.

Wo du schlafen wirst

Schlafzimmer
1 Queensize-Doppelbett

Das bietet dir diese Unterkunft

WLAN
Kostenlose Parkplätze an der Straße
Waschmaschine
Trockner
Klimaanlage
Föhn
Kühlschrank
Mikrowelle

Wähle ein Check-in-Datum aus

Gib deine Reisedaten an, um den genauen Preis zu sehen
Check-in
Datum hinzufügen
Check-out
Datum hinzufügen

4,97 von 5 Sternen aus 297 Bewertungen

Sauberkeit
Genauigkeit der Angaben
Kommunikation
Standort
Check-in
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis

Hier wirst du sein

Portland, Oregon, Vereinigte Staaten

The neighborhood is located in the inner SE quadrant. It is centrally located, close to the Willamette river and the downtown area on the West side of town. Creston Kennilworth is the name of the neighborhood and while it is close in, it is very quiet. Safe and sleepy, the neighborhood reminds me of the Division-Clinton neighborhood when I first moved to Portland nearly ten years ago. In all, the neighborhood is a great way to experience what it feels like to be a local, living in PDX.

Gladstone Street is the primary artery nearby my house and has a small cluster of restaurants and bars. I highly recommend C Bar at SE 28th and Gladstone. It always has a great selection of craft beer and the Chef's Burger on the menu is really, really good. The sushi place is so-so. I wouldn't recommend it.

Gastgeber:in: Matthew

  1. Mitglied seit Oktober 2014
  • 297 Bewertungen
  • Identität verifiziert
  • Superhost

Matthew ist ein Superhost

Superhosts sind erfahrene, herausragend bewertete Gastgeber:innen, die ihren Gästen großartige Aufenthalte bieten.
  • Lizenz- oder Registrierungsnummer: City registration pending
  • Antwortrate: 100%
  • Antwortzeit: innerhalb einer Stunde
Um deine Zahlung zu schützen, solltest du niemals außerhalb der Airbnb-Website oder -App kommunizieren oder Geld überweisen.

Was du wissen solltest

Hausregeln

Check-in: Nach 16:00 Uhr
Check-out: 11:00 Uhr
Eigenständiger Check-in mit Codeschloss
Rauchen verboten
Keine Haustiere
Keine Partys oder Veranstaltungen

Gesundheit und Sicherheit

Diese:r Gastgeber:in hat sich zur erweiterten Reinigung von Airbnb verpflichtet. Mehr anzeigen
Es gelten die Richtlinien von Airbnb für räumliche Distanzierung sowie weitere Richtlinien im Zusammenhang mit COVID-19.
Kohlenmonoxidmelder
Rauchmelder

Stornierungsbedingungen