Nach der Eingabe in die Sucheingabe werden Vorschläge angezeigt. Durchstöbere die Vorschläge mit den Pfeiltasten nach oben oder unten. Wähle sie mit der Eingabetaste aus. Wenn es sich bei der Auswahl um einen Satz handelt, wird nach dem Satz gesucht. Wenn es sich bei dem Vorschlag um einen Link handelt, öffnet der Browser die jeweilige Seite.

Killington, Vermont

When deciding whether to become an Airbnb host, it's important for you to understand the laws in your town. As a platform and marketplace we don't provide legal advice, but we want to give you some useful links that may help you better understand laws and regulations in Killington, Vermont. If you have questions, contact the Town of Killington, or consult a local lawyer.

Short-term rental regulations

As of January 1, 2021, short-term rental operators are required to apply for a permit before renting out their homes. All dwelling units, rooms or other spaces that are rented for less than 30 consecutive days and more than 14 days in a year, must register and be inspected for a permit.

The town’s short-term rental regulations also impose occupancy limits. Dwelling unit capacity for a short-term rental is two occupants per approved bedroom plus 2 additional occupants. The occupancy of condominiums is determined by Act 250 permit and the ‘plus 2 occupants” exception does not apply. The maximum occupancy for short-term rentals across Killington, regardless of number of bedrooms within a dwelling unit, is 16 individuals.

If a short-term rental unit is equipped with an alarm system, it must have a call-in feature and a Knox Box is required. If the dwelling unit has an occupancy limit of 9 individuals or higher, an inspection report with occupancy approved from the state Division of Fire Safety is required. The Rutland Fire Safety office can be reached at 802-786-5867 to answer questions you may have and to set up an appointment.

The short-term rental operator, or a designated agent or representative, must be available by phone at all times that the short-term rental is in use.


You can apply for a permit online. To apply online please visit Killington’s registration website. Permit application and annual renewal fees:

  • One to two bedroom unit - $150
  • Three bedroom unit - $200
  • Four or more bedroom unit - $250

For complete and detailed information on these requirements, including parking and posting requirements, please refer to the Town's short-term rental page.

Adding registration details to your listing(s)

You can add registration details, like a registration or permit number, to your listing. To add this number to your listing, go to Listings, select the listing you want, and add the number under Regulations.

Other rules

It's also important to understand and abide by other contracts or rules that bind you, such as leases, condo board or co-op rules, HOA rules, or rules established by tenant organizations. Please read your lease agreement and check with your landlord if applicable.

Our commitment to your community

We’re committed to working with local officials to clarify how local rules impact the short-term rental community. We will continue to advocate for changes that will enable people to share their homes.

Hat dir dieser Artikel weitergeholfen?
Hol dir Hilfe zum Thema Buchungen, Konto und mehr.
Einloggen oder registrieren